(What’s The Story), Morning Glory?

Posted: September 25, 2013 by generationgbooks in Music
Tags:

Oasis_-_(What's_The_Story)_Morning_Glory_album_coverYou know, almost every single post I have posted on Hannibal Collector has had a personal story or stories attached to them. This is no different. It has also come to my attention reading over the past number of posts I have blogged that I am going in order of the idiots I have had circling my orbit at one time or another. You’ve all kind of met Biceps for Jesus. I spent 3 years with him. You’ve all kind of met the Poor Man’s Scott Weiland. That was 2 1/2 years. Now you’re going to meet Jean-Luc (JL for short, for he is). I’m sure those of you who know me will connect these dots soon enough. I plead some form of immunity here, because I still talk to him and he’s a married man now, so I am not trying to start any fires in the wilderness of the past. Besides, I’m saving that for the memoir. You spend 10 years in love with someone and go three rounds with them before you realize that they do not love you as you have loved them, and cut your losses and move on. If you don’t, you will never let yourself free of those bonds, you will never meet the right person, and you will never be happy. We live once, we need to make the most of it, and not dwell in the past. So here I am, dwelling in the water closet of what was no doubt the biggest regret I ever had on the side of not working out.

I was going through one hell of a Brit phase from 1994’s release of Definitely Maybe. I remember Biceps wasn’t impressed by Oasis. I was impressed- by a lot of booze. I was hanging with Oak Park Mike and Janine and Biceps. I was drunk and hungover a lot. My favorite past-time was going to Oak Park at the latest of hours, drinking, eating pizza, smoking multiple cigarettes, and watching MTV, which at that time, actually still showed videos. Biceps came and went. Worthless Hick came and went. In 1999, I started at Crown Books and met what I perceived to be my destiny. JL had me from the world hello and the compliment on my black crushed velvet bell bottoms. I was still with PMSW, but 4 months later, he was gone. I told him it was over on Valentine’s Day and went to see Almost Famous with Maribeth and Jean-Luc. I came home euphoric, and no, not because of that lame ass movie. I walked into the kitchen of the old house and found my 16-year old dog had passed away. Do you believe in signs? I should have taken that as one, but alas, the blind do not see the writing on the wall, or in this case, the poor dead dog on the kitchen floor. The very next day, I went to work with him and he brought in Definitely Maybe, which I was already acquainted with, and (What’s the Story), Morning Glory? which I knew only because Pew 101 overplayed those two horrible songs, as well as The Stone Roses. I had brought Pulp’s Different Class and Blur’s Parklife, both of which he was not familiar with. It was quite the bonding experience. He immediately loved both Blur and Pulp, and I got into The Stone Roses(who I somehow had not heard) and Oasis in a scary way for the following 5-6 years. How I had not done so before this evening, I am not sure of, as the Gallaghers modeled the band after a fanatical worship of the Beatles, which I did and still do have, after many years. It was also odd ,that like Duran Duran, Oasis always seemed to have an album coming out when one of my relationships were going through a major landmark, like the dawning of a new day or the crash of a Goodyear blimp into the San Francisco bridge. You get the idea.

(What’s the Story), Morning Glory? was almost perfect start to finish. All you would have to do is smite the existence of Liam Gallagher’s weakest vocal performances on record- “Wonderwall” and “Champagne Supernova”. I would hear the beginning of both songs and go screaming down Lombard and Madison. Janine used to torture me at the Joliet Ave apartment in Lyons by taking off the new Desiree’ (Who? Exactly.) album and playing either of those songs instead. Years later, in that Crown Books in Western Springs, I silently endured the torture of those two songs to impress he with whom the dice of my destiny were lined up.  In doing that, I also concentrated greatly on the rest of the album.  Honestly, every time that I had heard it previously, there were numerous bottles of liquor involved, so I was sober, at work, and listening. And that’s how I grew to actually appreciate this album. It has my favorite Oasis song of all time, “Don’t Look Back In Anger”. It has a lot of sonic power in “Roll With It”, “Hey Now!”, and “Some Might Say”. Deep thinking on “Cast No Shadow”. Just plain liking “Hello” and “She’s Electric”.  And now that it was connected to JL, it was a definite plus. Had to find it on vinyl. If I enjoyed it that much on the crappy boombox at Crown, I was going to dig it on vinyl.

The attempts to find this record was Jennie and my undertaking. We were in the middle of Nowhere (Indiana) and hunting down obscure record stores. Unfortunately, this was before Nicole, Kelly, Jeff, and my driving to Indianapolis while deathly ill because I would have just had her drive to Indianapolis. We went to Evansville (and if you haven’t been, don’t go. It’s the new ghetto), Jasper, Bedford, and Herrin.  In Evansville, there was a little shack called Joe’s West Side Records. (For the record, the west side of Evansville, not the best side.) We found it alright; a shitty copy of it, and the overall wearing cretin behind the counter was telling us it was a Japanese import. Jennie pointed out there was no Japanese writing on it anywhere, it looked like the US pressing of the CD, because, well, it WAS the US version of the album, but on vinyl.  He continued with his spiel. I think at one point I may have asked if it was from Japan, Indiana, and therefore that’s what made it a Japanese pressing. There was no way it was an import. The $35 price sticker attached to this album was likely the other thing that spurred on my questioning the authenticity of the item. The gatefold had water damage, as if Joe Bob Billy Corn on the Cob had forgotten to take his glass of Country Time off of it after using it for a coaster out in the yard. There was an unexplained orange blotch on the “O” in Oasis. Likely the pumpkin seeds that little Honey Boo Boo spit out when the parents weren’t looking. No way in hell was I buying this, but Jennie and I were both stunned that this fucker was trying to sell us this. We were definitely not the Indiana Elite, so he probably figured he’d sell it and have enough to go paint his house pink like John Cougar Mellencamp instructed him to.  He kept on with his spiel. We left the shack after making our outrage pretty clear. He went back to his spittoon and cleaning his rifle.

Our next stop was Karma Records in Bedford. First off, I connected it with “Karma Chameleon”Jennie went the non-Boy George route and connected it with “Instant Karma”. We both hoped it meant we would find the albums we sought. Jennie was on a hunt for Gary Numan’s The Pleasure Principle. I kept cracking jokes about Janet Jackson, which she did not appreciate. We went into this store, and found a lot of John Denver, Debby Boone, Gary Allan Coe, and other country & western oddities. Jen did find an album by Black Oak Arkansas, of Jim Dandy fame. She picked that up for Carol, but beyond that, karma was on the side of the locals, not the vocals.

Jasper Records & CD’s in Jasper was our next stop. They had a whole hell of a lot of clarinets, flutes, and banjos. Yes, banjos. They did have a small section and I was able to pick up Sixteen Stone by Bush on vinyl, but that was it there. Birdland Records was a music store for musical instruments and a comedy club also. Process that. Only in Indiana, folks.  Vincennes was next. I also think of Chad who worked at the Kokomo BAM when I’m in Vincennes, because that’s where he’s from. Record Cellar Audio was our next, and mercifully, last stop. Not only was Jen tired from driving, but she and I were tired from the endless corn fields, awkward encounters at gas stations when they didn’t understand our “Chicago accents” when we were asking for directions, and not being fruitful in our respective quests. This guy in Vincennes had a good selection, a clue, and better yet, a brain. Jen found a different promo Numan, so she was happy. I found the Japanese import of Duran Duran’s The Wedding Album for a pittance, and in great shape. I look up to ask him a question, and there, taped to the register, was (What’s The Story), Morning Glory? I asked him if he had an untape copy, and he had one left behind the counter. It was mine. It was $16.00, but I didn’t care at that point. When I got back and told JL, he told me I could have gone to Beautiful Day in Lagrange and they would’ve had it. Obviously, he had not done his homework. Before this trip through dead fly country, Jen and I had done our usual canvassing of the area, and no dice. It didn’t matter where I got it, because I finally had it. It was another adventure in collecting and it also helped me connect to someone who ultimately did change my life. Maybe not for the better or for the lifetime gig, but for many good memories. Oasis are still hard to listen to for me because of all of those shared memories, but I still appreciate the energy and talent that went into that band before it ended. I will always have some real good memories, and about 90% of them are revolving around vinyl.

Leave a Reply

